Internet and addiction

As we all know Technology like internet has become an important part of our lives.   From the moment I get up I check out my  email, my face book wall and read its message , and reply to unread text messages; all in a like 5 minutes. in my opinion  Addiction to technology has been a serious problem.http://rhettsmith.com/2009/08/is-your-addiction-to-technology-transforming-your-life/ is an interesting website that shows the effect of technology addiction on human’s  life.

seriously have you ever thought  that it is impossible to be  at a restaurant and not see a half of people looking at their cell phone?Last night I was at restaurant and I was thinking about  my blog post, I saw  two people sitting across from each other and both were on their cell phone.I figured out it is going to be an interesting topic if i have one blog post about it.  ‘internet and addiction’!!

I don’t know if I describe the addiction right but I think  Technology addiction is  similar to many other types of addiction.  those who have  an urge to get on their laptop or look at their Facebook via their cell phone.   If they can not control their urge to use some sort of technology , I would say it is  addiction.
Technology addiction has even ruined relationships.   Some use it as a way to have an emotional relationship with someone they met online.   Sites such as http://www.ashley.com/  has promoted online cheating and I read somewhere that http://secondlife.com/ , which was used for many years as virtual classroom for schools, has a whole area  for sexual issues.  it is not wired that  with those website , People would spend more hours online – some even days logged on such  site.   I think They only way we can control our technology addiction is by limiting the amount of time we use it , Just control it!!!!!

One response »

  1. Good point here – and an interesting thing to observe or be aware of. When you are at restaurants and see individuals, couple, friends, or families – how often is one or more persons on a phone? Pretty often, and often on individual phones at the same time.

    You bring up mulitple examples of issues related to technology – maybe they are not new problems but the media is new – in terms of addictions, narcissism (some would say), ways of meeting people (for better or sometimes worse) in ways that were unimaginable before the Internet.

    Reply

Leave a comment